You are currently using an outdated browser. For the best viewing experience, please upgrade your browser here.

11 May 2022

BGANZ Ltd commences 1 July 2022

BGANZ Ltd – changes at Botanic Gardens Australia and New Zealand

Following the recent Special General Meeting of BGANZ members on 28 April 2022, BGANZ Council can announce that BGANZ will transition from BGANZ Inc to BGANZ Ltd on 1 July 2022. This change will bring the introduction of a Board of up to nine Board Directors providing overall governance, financial management, fundraising, partnership development and strategic planning, with existing regional and professional groups continuing as the member Committee.


The governance changes are designed to set BGANZ up for future growth so that we can more successfully achieve our strategic objectives and service members to a higher level. Importantly, the Board structure allows for external skills-based appointments while retaining at least 50% composition made up of BGANZ members. This composition is designed to bridge gaps in expertise experienced under the current structure while retaining the key focus on our members as a network organisation.


Details of the Board and Member Committee structure as well as the new constitution have been circulated to members in the lead-up to the SGM. You can read the new constitution  here and view the new structure here.

Next steps

  • BGANZ will apply for deductible gift recipient (DGR) status to grow opportunities to increase our attractiveness to sponsorship funders.
  • The BGANZ Board will meet for the first time in July.
  • The BGANZ Committee will meet in July or August with the date to be confirmed.
Back to News